Year 6

A warm welcome to Year 6 from Miss Wilson and Mrs Trickett

 

Home Learning

All children will be given a reading and library book and will bring them home each night. If you could read with your child at home it would help a great deal with their progress and if you could indicate that you have done so in their reading record this again would be greatly appreciated.

Class Reader

This half term we will be reading :

Pig Heart Boy by Malorie Blackman

You’re thirteen. All you want is a normal life. But most normal children don’t need heart transplants. So there’s this doctor. He says there’s a chance for you. But he  also says it’s experimental, controversial and risky. And it’s never been done before.

Homework

Any homework given will be recorded in their homework diary which you will need to check and sign on a weekly basis. Homework will be given on a Monday and collected in on a Friday.

Homework

Topic work/IPC

This half term our topic is “Our Body and How it Works”

PE

Year 6 will be having  outdoor PE on Monday and indoor PE on Wednesday. The children will require full indoor kit on Wednesday –  full kit of yellow t-shirt, blue shorts and pumps and on Mondays they we need full outdoor kit – dark tracksuits, blue, black or grey and trainers or they can use their indoor kit, however it might be cold.

Numeracy and Reading Clubs

Numeracy and reading clubs

Numeracy Club is on Wednesday until 4:15 pm

Reading Club is on Thursday until 4:15 pm

SATs Week

SATs will begin week commencing 11th May 2020.

Events

Monday 16th September Mr Cregg ( the new head of The Radclyffe) will be visiting year 6.

Friday 27th September – Castleshaw.

Harvest Assembly is on Thursday 10th October 2019

Year 6 Parent meetings are on Wednesday 6th November 2019

Year 6 Tudor Assembly

Friday 22nd November non-uniform day

Thursday 28th Novemeber non-uniform day

Choir at Chadderton Christmas market on Friday 29th November

Christmas Fair is on Tuesday 3rd December

Tudor Trip is on Thursday 12th December

Christmas Performance- Tuesday 17th December 9.30 am and 2.00 pm

Jack and the Beanstalk panto – Wednesday 18th December

Year 5 & 6 Christmas party is on Thursday 19th December

School finishes at 2.00 pm on Friday 20th December

Year 6 assembly is on Friday 10th January 2020

Careers talk with the Yorkshire Bank is on 22nd January

Visit to St Matthew’s Church on 13th February

Friday 14th February, is Star Assembly, all welcome

Finish for half term on Friday 14th February

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

.

 

 

 

Long term plan

long term planning year 6

Year 6 Handbook

St Luke's Handbook - Year 6

 

Comments are closed